
Crypto debit card fees compared, from eight issuers' own fee pages
Crypto debit card fees compared
Eight crypto debit cards had fee pages that could be read on 14 October 2026. Foreign transaction fees run from 0% to 3%, ATM fees from no card fee to $3 plus 2%, and cashback from none stated to 3% with a $10,000 annual membership. Spending crypto on any of them is a sale for US tax purposes.
Piece published Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk
A crypto debit card charges in three places: the conversion from crypto, the foreign transaction fee, and the ATM. Across eight cards whose fee pages were read on 14 October 2026, foreign transaction fees run from 0% to 3%, ATM fees from no card fee to $3 plus 2%, and stated cashback from none to 3%. The card with 3% cashback charges $10,000 a year for it.
The figures below come from each issuer's own fee page, cardholder agreement or help centre, read that day. Six of the 14 cards on the card register are left out of the table because their fee schedule could not be read; they are listed at the end. Nothing here recommends a card.
What does a crypto debit card cost to use?
Usually nothing to hold, something to spend abroad, and something at the ATM. Monthly fees are rare: Coinbase's fee schedule reads "Monthly fee $0", Crypto.com's US agreement says "No charge", and Nexo's page says "no monthly, annual, or inactivity card fees." The cost sits elsewhere.
| Card | Region of page read | Annual fee | FX fee | ATM fee | ATM limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinbase Card | US | $0 | 0% | $0 card fee | $1,000 per 24 hours |
| Crypto.com | US | $0 | 0% on 3 tiers, 3% on 4 | Free to $200-$1,000 a month, then 2% | $500 to $2,000 a day, by tier |
| MetaMask Card | Global | $0 or $199 Metal | 1% or 0% Metal | 2%, Metal free to $1,200 a month | $1,000 a day, $5,000 Metal |
| KAST | Global | $0, $1,000 or $10,000 | 0.5%-1.75% | $3 plus 2% | $500 per withdrawal, $1,500 per 24 hours |
| Nexo Card | EEA | $0 | 0.2% weekdays, 0.7% weekends | Free to €200-€2,000 a month, then 2% (min €1.99) | Not stated |
| Wirex | UK, EEA, APAC | Not stated | Not stated | Free to 200 GBP, EUR or SGD a month, then 2% | Not stated |
| RedotPay | USD card | Not stated | 1.2% | 2% to $10,000 a month, then 3% | Not stated |
| Bybit Card | Not specified | Not stated | Not stated | 2% above a free monthly limit | Not stated |
Nexo's FX figures are for EEA, UK and Swiss cards; its page lists 2% on weekdays and 2.5% on weekends for the rest of the world. KAST says its FX fee may depend on the country of residence, the country of the transaction and the card program, with the rate shown in the app before confirming.
Which crypto debit card has no foreign transaction fee?
Three of the eight, on stated terms. The Coinbase Card's fee schedule reads "International transactions 0%". Crypto.com's US agreement charges no foreign transaction fee on its Obsidian, Frosted Rose Gold and Icy White cards, and 3% on Jade Green, Midnight Blue, Royal Indigo and Ruby Steel. MetaMask's Metal tier shows "No fee" for cross-border use, footnoted "Subject to fair usage"; the free tier pays 1%.
What does the crypto conversion cost?
This is the fee most fee tables leave out, and the one that applies to every purchase. Where it is stated:
- MetaMask: stablecoins in the cardholder's own currency carry "No fee"; "Other cryptocurrencies (e.g., wETH)" carry 0.875%.
- RedotPay: crypto conversion "1%".
- KAST: top-up, card spend and transaction fees all 0%.
- Coinbase: the help page says the card can be used "without incurring any transaction fees", then adds "Coinbase does include a spread in the price to buy or sell cryptocurrencies." The spread is not quantified.

Paying in a stablecoin matching the card's currency avoids a conversion fee on the cards that state one. Spending a volatile coin does not.
How much cashback do crypto debit cards pay?
The stated range ends at KAST's Private tier, 3% on the first $40,000 a month, for a $10,000 annual membership. Its Standard tier pays 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month for no membership fee. Nexo pays cashback only in Credit Mode and only with more than $5,000 in digital assets on the account, from 0.1% in BTC at the base tier to 2% in NEXO tokens at Platinum. Coinbase's rewards page says "Reward rate is variable. Check your app for the most updated rate." Crypto.com's rewards page was not read for this piece: not verified.
Cashback paid in a token is a variable amount, not a fixed discount, and a membership fee needs heavy spending before a percentage covers it.
Cards left out, and one closing
Six register cards are not in the table. Binance Card and Exodus Card fee schedules were not read; the register records Exodus's Schedule A as not extracted. Plutus and Revolut fee pages were not read today. The Coinbase One Card is a credit card, not debit. Gnosis Pay is closing: its notice says "Your card and the web app will stop working at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026."
Is spending with a crypto card a taxable event?
In the US, yes, each time crypto is sold to fund the purchase. Coinbase's own card page says "Each time you use your card and sell cryptocurrency, it is treated as selling property in a taxable transaction." IRS FAQ Q62 treats paying for services with digital assets as a disposal on which gain or loss is recognised. A $4 coffee bought with bitcoin bought cheaply is a small capital gain to report. Spending a USD stablecoin or a dollar balance creates little or no gain. Not tax advice; the IRS page is the source.
Do crypto cards work at casinos?
Often not, and the reason differs by card. Some agreements prohibit gambling, some help centres block it, and some say nothing. The clauses are compared in crypto cards and gambling. Spending without a card, through processors and Lightning, is in how to spend bitcoin.
Quick answers
What do crypto debit cards charge abroad?
From 0% on the Coinbase Card (US) and three Crypto.com US tiers to 3% on Crypto.com's other four tiers. Nexo charges 0.2% on EEA weekdays. Each card entry links its source.
What are crypto debit card ATM fees?
From no card fee on the Coinbase Card, where the ATM operator may still charge, to $3 plus 2% on KAST. Most cards charge 2% above a free monthly amount.
Do crypto debit cards charge a conversion fee?
MetaMask charges 0.875% on coins such as wETH and nothing on matching stablecoins. RedotPay charges 1%. Coinbase charges no stated fee but includes a spread.
Is a crypto debit card purchase taxable?
In the US, each crypto-funded purchase is a sale of property, per Coinbase's card page and IRS FAQ Q62. Not tax advice.
Sources
- Coinbase Card cardholder agreement and fee schedule (MetaBank), retrieved 14 October 2026
- Coinbase Help Center, Coinbase Card fees and taxes, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Coinbase Help Center, Coinbase debit card rewards, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Crypto.com US cardholder agreement, effective 1 September 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- MetaMask Card limits and fees, retrieved 14 October 2026
- KAST, fees and conditions for KAST cards and accounts, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Nexo Card page, EEA, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Wirex fees, retrieved 14 October 2026
- RedotPay help centre, ATM withdrawals and fees, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Bybit Card general inquiries FAQ, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Gnosis Pay formal notice of closure, retrieved 14 October 2026
- IRS, frequently asked questions on digital asset transactions, page updated 29 June 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- CryptoGuardz card register, 14 cards, issuer and gambling fields recorded 2026-09-28
About this piece
Compiled by the CryptoGuardz register team from the sources listed above. Research and drafting are AI-assisted and reviewed by a named editor before publication. Nothing here is a recommendation to gamble. If a figure or a reading is wrong, tell us and the correction is logged in public.