CryptoGuardzIndependent crypto register
Read the binding document, check it against the issuing register, publish the disagreement18+ · Gambling carries risk of loss

Choose a language

The register is published in these languages. If this page has no version in one of them, you go to that language’s home page.

Photo: Maxim Hopman / Unsplash

Best crypto exchange? 24 exchanges sorted by what their documents say

In short, from the documents

What is the best crypto exchange?

No document can name one best crypto exchange, so this page sorts 24 by what their terms and the registers say. 14 have a licence found in a regulator's own register, 13 reserve a discretionary freeze without notice, and 12 have a primary-source incident on record. It is not a paid ranking. None meets all four documented criteria.

Documents last checked Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk

How this is sorted: by what the documents say, not a paid ranking. CryptoGuardz has no commercial relationship with any exchange below and earns nothing if you open an account. The order is four fields read from each exchange’s register record, in this order: whether a licence it holds was found in a regulator’s own register (a regulator warning sorts last); how wide its freeze clause is, from a clause with no discretionary ground and no waiver of notice, through one of the two, to both, with a clause that could not be read last; how many incidents are recorded from primary sources; and whether the terms state a gambling rule either way. Ties are broken by name. Corrections go to the corrections page.

All 24 exchanges, sorted

None of the 24 meets all four criteria. Below that the order follows the first criterion an exchange misses. A lower place means a documented difference, not a worse platform: nothing was traded and no withdrawal was run.

24 exchanges

Sorted by what the documents say, in this order: licences found in a regulator register, freeze clause scope, incidents on record, gambling clause. Not a paid ranking and not a score.
OrderExchangeLicences found in a registerFreeze clauseIncidentsGambling clauseProof of reserves
1eToro
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
2 found in a register (CySEC, NYDFS)Narrowest on record1Not verifiedNo data: page could not be loaded
2Bitstamp
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (CSSF)Discretion or no notice0Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
3Independent Reserve
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (MAS)Discretion or no notice0Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
4Coinbase
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (CSSF)Discretion and no notice0Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
5Gate
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (MFSA)Discretion and no notice0Restricts some gamblingPublished, self-signed
6Kraken
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
2 found in a register (CBI)Discretion and no notice0Restricts some gamblingPublished, signer not named
7Shakepay
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (CIRO)Discretion and no notice0Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
8Crypto.com
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (MFSA)Discretion and no notice0Not disclosedPublished, outside signer named
9KuCoin
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (FMA)Discretion and no notice1Restricts some gamblingPublished, outside signer named
10OKX
Read 2026-09-22 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (MFSA)Discretion and no notice1Prohibits gamblingPublished, self-signed
11Cash App
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (NYDFS)Discretion and no notice2Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
12Gemini
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (NYDFS)Discretion and no notice2Not verifiedNot published
13Robinhood Crypto
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (NYDFS)Discretion and no notice2Not verifiedNo data: page could not be loaded
14Bybit
Read 2026-09-22 · is it safe?
1 found in a register (FMA)Not verified1Not verifiedNo data: page could not be loaded
15CoinSpot
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
None found in a registerNarrowest on record0Restricts some gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
16Swyftx
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
None found in a registerNarrowest on record0Prohibits gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
17CoinDCX
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
None found in a registerNarrowest on record1Prohibits gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
18Uphold
Read 2026-10-08 · is it safe?
None found in a registerNarrowest on record2Restricts some gamblingPublished, signer not named
19ZebPay
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
None found in a registerDiscretion or no notice0Prohibits gamblingNo data: page could not be loaded
20HTX
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
None found in a registerDiscretion or no notice0Not disclosedNo data: page could not be loaded
21WazirX
Read 2026-10-09 · is it safe?
None found in a registerDiscretion or no notice2Not disclosedNo data: page could not be loaded
22Bitget
Read 2026-09-22 · is it safe?
None found in a registerDiscretion and no notice0Prohibits gamblingPublished, self-signed
23Binance
Read 2026-09-28 · is it safe?
None found in a registerDiscretion and no notice1Not disclosedPublished, self-signed
24MEXC
Read 2026-09-22 · is it safe?
None found in a register; on a regulator warning listDiscretion and no notice1Prohibits gamblingPublished, self-signed

Which is the safest crypto exchange?

The documents cannot settle that alone: what happens to a balance in a failure depends on the books, and no audit was read. What the records can say is narrower. 2 exchanges have a licence found in a register, a freeze clause short of discretion with no notice, and no primary-source incident on record: Bitstamp and Independent Reserve. No incident on record is not proof of none.

12 have incidents recorded: Cash App (2), Gemini (2), Robinhood Crypto (2), Uphold (2), WazirX (2), eToro (1), KuCoin (1), OKX (1), Bybit (1), CoinDCX (1), Binance (1) and MEXC (1). 12 have none. The terms of 9 say nothing about what happens to customer assets if the company fails: Gate, KuCoin, CoinSpot, Swyftx, CoinDCX, ZebPay, HTX, Bitget and MEXC.

Which exchanges hold a licence found in a regulator register?

14 of 24: eToro, Bitstamp, Independent Reserve, Coinbase, Gate, Kraken, Shakepay, Crypto.com, KuCoin, OKX, Cash App, Gemini, Robinhood Crypto and Bybit. A licence counts here only when the issuing authority’s own register lists it, and the entry for each says which company holds it, which is often not the company most users contract with. 9 had no licence confirmed in a register: CoinSpot, Swyftx, CoinDCX, Uphold, ZebPay, HTX, WazirX, Bitget and Binance. 7 of the exchanges without a confirmed licence claim one that was looked up and not found. MEXC appears on a regulator’s warning register instead.

Which exchanges can freeze an account without notice?

Every freeze clause is quoted in full on the entry, with the date it was read. The safety page for each exchange lists the grounds the clause names. For Bybit, the binding global terms could not be retrieved, so no freeze clause is on record.

Which crypto exchanges allow gambling deposits?

None of the terms read grants a permission; what they do is draw the line in different places. 10 restrict unlawful, unregulated or unlicensed gambling only: Bitstamp, Independent Reserve, Coinbase, Gate, Kraken, Shakepay, KuCoin, Cash App, CoinSpot and Uphold. 6 prohibit gambling as a use of the account: OKX, Swyftx, CoinDCX, ZebPay, Bitget and MEXC. 4 name no gambling rule in the documents read: Crypto.com, HTX, WazirX and Binance, which is an absence and not a permission. For 4, the gambling clause is not verified: eToro, Gemini, Robinhood Crypto and Bybit.

A clause on unlawful or unlicensed gambling turns on the law where you live. In a country or US state that licenses online casinos locally, a deposit to a casino without that licence can fall within what those clauses describe. Each clause is quoted in section 10 of the entry. If gambling has stopped being fun, the responsible gambling page lists helplines by country.

Which crypto exchange has the lowest fees?

No data: the register records licences, clauses, reserves and incidents, not fee schedules, so it cannot sort by fees. A fee table read from each exchange’s own schedule would need a date and a source per figure, and none has been collected.

Head-to-head comparisons

Compiled by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from 24 exchange records, last reviewed 2026-10-09. Each exchange name in the table links to its entry, where the clause behind every field is quoted with its source and date. Order of the four keys: licence, freeze scope, incidents and gambling clause. Corrections: corrections.