CryptoGuardzIndependent crypto register
Read the binding document, check it against the issuing register, publish the disagreement18+ · Gambling carries risk of loss

Choose a language

The register is published in these languages. If this page has no version in one of them, you go to that language’s home page.

Photo: Maxim Hopman / UnsplashRegister entry · gate.com

Gate review: licences, terms and gambling clause

Licences, account freezes, hacks and fake support in short: is Gate safe?

In short, from the documents

Can you deposit to a casino from Gate?

Gate's terms restrict gambling without banning it outright, in Clause 2.11, Prohibited Use; a deposit to a casino not licensed where you live can breach them. Its terms let it freeze or suspend an account without prior notice. 1 registration is confirmed in an issuing register. The terms name no contracting company. KYC rules: no data in this entry.

Documents last checked Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk

Gate: gambling clause: restricts some gambling, read 2026-09-28.Gambling clauseBannedLimitedSilentMarked: Limited, restricts some gamblingIts terms restrict gambling without banningit outright. Read 2026-09-28.Gate: 20 USDT networks listed for withdrawal: Ethereum(ERC20), Tron(TRC20), BNB Smart Chain(BEP20), Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum One, AVAX C-Chain, The Open Network, Aptos, Algorand, CeloGold, Asset Hub Polkadot, EOS, GateChain, kaia, KAVA EVM, MON, Near, Plasma, Tezos.USDT withdrawal networksEthereum(ERC20)Tron(TRC20)BNB Smart Chain(BEP20)SolanaPolygonArbitrum OneAVAX C-ChainThe Open NetworkAptosAlgorandCeloGoldAsset Hub PolkadotEOSGateChainkaiaKAVA EVMMONNearPlasmaTezos20 listed, read 2026-09-28.Gate: register checks: 1 found, 0 not found.Register checksFound in an issuing register1 of 1Not found0 of 1No adverse listing recorded.
Gate: gambling clause: restricts some gambling; 20 USDT networks listed for withdrawal: Ethereum(ERC20), Tron(TRC20), BNB Smart Chain(BEP20), Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum One, AVAX C-Chain, The Open Network, Aptos, Algorand, CeloGold, Asset Hub Polkadot, EOS, GateChain, kaia, KAVA EVM, MON, Near, Plasma, Tezos; register checks: 1 found, 0 not found. From its own documents and the issuing registers, last checked . Not a rating. Drawn by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from the record.

Disclosure: CryptoGuardz has no commercial relationship with Gate, earns nothing if you open an account there, and has not contacted the company or given it notice of this entry. Every statement below is either a verbatim quote from a document Gate publishes or a statement about a public register, and both carry the date they were read. Corrections go to the corrections page.

7 clauses quoted verbatim · 1 confirmed registration · 3 recorded gaps · 0 primary-source incidents · no numeric score

1. What this means for you

Consequences first, in the conditional, each one produced by a clause in a document Gate publishes itself. Every line links to that clause, quoted in full and dated.

What can happen to you, and what in the document allows it

6 conditions, each one read out of a document Gate publishes itself, out of the register of the authority that licensed it, or out of the limits of what this register has measured. Each link lands on the evidence.

2. What this entry records, and what it does not

This register publishes no number for an exchange. The payout score on the casino register has five defined components and a published arithmetic; no equivalent instrument exists here, and inventing one to fill the space would be a measurement nobody made. What follows instead is a field-by-field account of what was read, where it was read and when.

Binding termsRead in full 7 clauses captured verbatim across 5 topics, retrieved 2026-09-28
Contracting entityNo company namedNo jurisdiction of incorporation stated in the binding document · no company number stated
Registration check1 confirmed in the issuing authority's own registerESMA interim MiCA register, published CSV, read 2026-09-28
Proof of reservesPublished, self-signedSigner: Gate itself.
Insolvency outcomeNot disclosedThe binding document contains no insolvency clause. This is an absence in their document, not a gap in our reading.
Withdrawal testNot measuredNo first-party deposit or withdrawal has been run against this exchange. It would require funding an account, which this register has not done. Until it has, nothing here is a measurement of how fast the exchange pays.
On-chain reserve verificationNot measuredNo independent reconstruction of the Merkle tree or of the exchange's wallet holdings has been attempted.

3. What we could not verify

Every entry carries this section. The gaps are published because a reader deserves the limits of the check as well as its results.

  • The legal entity that operates gate.com for a user outside the EEA. The User Agreement names none.
  • The Hacken engagement listed on the proof of reserves page. The linked report was not downloaded, and its date precedes the snapshot shown.
  • The gate.com pages were served with a notice that the request came from the US region; the agreement read is the one served on gate.com/user-agreement at retrieval.

4. Who you are contracting with

The counterparty named in the binding document, not the brand on the website. This is the company a claim would be brought against and whose insolvency estate a user would be a creditor of.

Named counterpartyNot disclosedThe binding document names no company. See the notes below for what it does name.source · retrieved 2026-09-28
Jurisdiction of incorporationNot disclosedNo place of incorporation is stated in the binding document read. What the document does say is in the notes below.
Company numberNot disclosedNo company number appears in the binding document, so the entity cannot be looked up in any companies register from that document alone.

The User Agreement names no company. The counterparty throughout is "Gate", "we" and "us", and a full text search for Limited, Ltd, Inc, S.A., incorporated and registered office returns nothing that identifies the operator.

Clause 14.1 applies the laws of the Republic of Panama and clause 15.2 sends disputes to ICC arbitration in Panama, which is the only geography the agreement attaches to itself.

Governing law · clause 1 of 1Retrieved 2026-09-28
14.1 This User Agreement, your use of the Services and any claim or dispute of any kind whatsoever arising out of this Agreement, shall be governed by, and constructed in accordance with, the laws of the Republic of Panama without regard to the principles of conflicts of laws.
gate.com

5. Registrations, claimed and confirmed

1 of the registrations Gate claims was found in the issuing authority's own public register. A confirmed registration covers the entity named on it and nothing else. The confirmed authorisation is held by a Maltese company serving gate.com/en-eu. The gate.com User Agreement names no company, so nothing in the binding document ties it to the register row.

AuthorityKindConfirmedWhat it covers
Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), crypto-asset service provider authorisation under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA)
LEI 984500D6A0F945BB5A15
register read · 2026-09-28
authorisationyesConfirmed. The official ESMA interim MiCA register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, downloaded 28 September 2026, carries the row: competent authority Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA), entity Gate Technology Limited, LEI 984500D6A0F945BB5A15, authorisation notification date 29/09/2025, no end date. Services authorised: custody and administration; operation of a trading platform for crypto-assets; exchange of crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets; execution of orders; transfer services. It covers Gate Technology Limited only.
European Securities and Markets Authority (MiCA register of non-compliant entities)
register read · 2026-09-28
adverse listingnot listedNegative check. The official ESMA register of non-compliant entities providing crypto-asset services was downloaded on 28 September 2026 and searched. The string Gate.io and The string Gate Technology do not appear in it.

A row counts as a confirmed registration only where its kind is an authorisation and where it was found in the authority’s own register. Adverse listings are shown in the same table because they were found in the same search, and they are never counted as credentials.

6. Proof of reserves

Gate publishes a proof of reserves and signs it itself. No accountant, auditor or attestation firm is named, no engagement standard is referenced, and what is published is a cryptographic snapshot the exchange produces about itself. It says nothing about what the exchange owes.

SignerGate itself. The page names Hacken as "Audit Firm" with an "Audit Time" of January 3, 2024, and links an audit of the proof of reserves implementation on GitHub. The monthly snapshot shown on the page is dated 13 September 2026 and carries no signer.
StandardNone stated. The method is a Merkle tree with zk-SNARK proofs; the Hacken engagement listed on the page is dated more than two years before the snapshot.
As of2026-09-13
Covers liabilitiesnoNothing in the exercise addresses borrowings, loan obligations, off-chain claims, or whether the set of user balances in the tree is complete.
Pagegate.comretrieved 2026-09-28
Scope, in the exchange's own wordsRetrieved 2026-09-28
There is no scope limitation on the page. This is the nearest text, and it is a claim of coverage rather than a limitation
Gate is the first mainstream platform committed to providing 100% reserves.
gate.com

Figures shown at retrieval, latest audit time 2026-09-13 00:00:00 UTC: total reserves $8,215,076,154; customer net balance $7,005,691,664; total reserve rate 117%. Asset ratios: BTC 120.31%, ETH 123.59%, USDT 114.25%.

The page publishes no limitation. The sentence quoted as scope is a claim of priority, and "first" is Gate's word, not this register's.

7. Custody, segregation and insolvency

The binding document says nothing about segregation and nothing about insolvency. That is the finding.

No insolvency clause

There is no clause in Gate’s terms describing what happens to customer digital assets if Gate itself becomes insolvent. A user is left to infer that they are an unsecured creditor from a document that declines to say so. The absence is recorded as Not disclosed: it is a gap in their document, not in our reading of it.

8. Freezing your account

3 clauses, quoted in the order they appear in the document. Read the last one first: it is the ground that swallows the others.

Account freeze · clause 1 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
If we reasonably suspect that you have engaged in, attempted to engage in, or assisted others in engaging in any activity described in the Prohibited Use list, we reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to investigate, suspend or terminate your access to the Services, freeze or confiscate funds, and report suspected activity to relevant authorities.
gate.com
Account freeze · clause 2 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
3.1 We may restrict, suspend or terminate your Account, use of the Service, the processing of any transaction, at any time if we in our sole discretion, suspect, notice and determine that you have violated this Agreement or any Applicable Laws in your jurisdiction or that the provision or your use of the Service in your jurisdiction is unlawful.
gate.com
Account freeze · clause 3 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
8.8 We may suspend, restrict or terminate your access to any or all of the Sites and/or Services, and/or deactivate or cancel your Account without a reason by giving you 45 days notice.
gate.com

The only clause in the register that sets a notice period for termination without cause.

9. Suspending withdrawals

Not recorded. See section 2 for why.

10. Sending funds to a casino from Gate

Gate's terms restrict gambling only where it is unlawful, unregulated or illegal. Whether a deposit to a given casino breaches them depends on that casino's licence and on where you are.

Gambling · Restricts some gambling · Clause 2.11, Prohibited UseRetrieved 2026-09-28
Unregulated casino/online betting/gambling platform, lotteries, or other high-risk betting enterprises;
gate.com
What the exchange may do about itRetrieved 2026-09-28
If we reasonably suspect that you have engaged in, attempted to engage in, or assisted others in engaging in any activity described in the Prohibited Use list, we reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to investigate, suspend or terminate your access to the Services, freeze or confiscate funds, and report suspected activity to relevant authorities.
gate.com

Clause 2.11 prohibits using Gate's services "for any of the following categories of activities or businesses". The gambling item is limited to unregulated operators, and the agreement does not define regulated. The stated consequence includes freezing or confiscating funds, which is the strongest sanction attached to a gambling clause in this register.

Documents searched: gate.com, retrieved 2026-09-28. The same clause for every exchange and DEX is compared in where crypto casino deposits come from.

11. Which networks Gate withdraws USDT on

20 USDT networks listed with withdrawals enabled on 2026-09-28, including Ethereum, Tron, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Avalanche, TON.

Ethereum(ERC20) · Tron(TRC20) · BNB Smart Chain(BEP20) · Solana · Polygon · Arbitrum One · AVAX C-Chain · The Open Network · Aptos · Algorand · CeloGold · Asset Hub Polkadot · EOS · GateChain · kaia · KAVA EVM · MON · Near · Plasma · Tezos

Read from Gate's public currency chains endpoint, chains with is_withdraw_disabled 0 at retrieval. Optimism was listed with withdrawals disabled and is left out. Source. Which DEXes operate on each of those chains is in the DEX register.

12. Amendment, liquidation, arbitration and governing law

The clauses that decide what the contract can become, what can be done to an open position, and where a dispute would be heard.

Unilateral amendment · clause 1 of 1Retrieved 2026-09-28
We reserve the right to amend or modify this Agreement, affiliated terms of service, activities terms, trading policies, guidelines or announcements from time to time in our sole discretion without notice to you. Any amendments or modifications will be deemed effective immediately upon posting on the Sites.
gate.com
Forced liquidation · clause 1 of 1Retrieved 2026-09-28
(i) where the total value of Abandoned Assets in your Account is equal to or below the Minimum Closure Threshold, such Abandoned Assets will be immediately, without prior notice to you, forfeited and retained by us; and
gate.com
Arbitration and time bar · clause 1 of 1Retrieved 2026-09-28
15.2 In the event that the Dispute fails to be resolved by negotiation within thirty (30) days from the initiation of such negotiations by issuance of a notice of Dispute, such Dispute shall be referred to and finally resolved by arbitration in Panama to the exclusion of the ordinary courts, in accordance with the Arbitration Rules of the International Chamber of Commerce
gate.com

The User Agreement contains no segregation clause and no insolvency clause.

13. Public record

No incident is recorded for Gate. That is not a clean bill of health. It means no primary source, meaning a regulator action, a court filing or a company post-mortem, was retrieved within this collection. Absence of a record here is the absence of a search result.

14. Who should avoid Gate

Anyone outside the European Economic Area who is relying on the authorisation they can see. The confirmed authorisation is held by Gate Technology Limited and covers that company's clients. A user elsewhere is contracting with a different entity under different terms. And anyone who wants to know, before depositing, where they would stand if the exchange failed: the document does not answer that question.

HTX htx.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.KuCoin kucoin.comRegistration confirmed for KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH.Bitget bitget.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.Cash App Bitcoin cash.appRegistration confirmed for its European entity.Coinbase coinbase.comRegistration confirmed for Coinbase Luxembourg S.A..Crypto.com Exchange crypto.comRegistration confirmed for Foris DAX MT Limited.MEXC mexc.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.Robinhood Crypto robinhood.comRegistration confirmed for its European entity.Uphold uphold.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.Gemini gemini.comRegistration confirmed for its European entity.Kraken kraken.comRegistration confirmed for Payward Europe Solutions Limited.OKX okx.comRegistration confirmed for OKX Europe Limited.Shakepay shakepay.comRegistration confirmed for its European entity.WazirX wazirx.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.Binance binance.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.Bitstamp bitstamp.netRegistration confirmed for Bitstamp Europe S.A..Bybit bybit.comRegistration confirmed for Bybit EU GmbH.CoinDCX coindcx.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.CoinSpot coinspot.com.auNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.eToro etoro.comRegistration confirmed for eToro (Europe) Ltd.Independent Reserve independentreserve.comRegistration confirmed for its European entity.Swyftx swyftx.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.ZebPay zebpay.comNo registration confirmed in any issuing register.

Or read the whole exchange register, the same method applied to wallets and to crypto casinos, the clause library at clause watch, or how this register works.

15. Sources

Compiled by the CryptoGuardz register team. First published 2026-09-28, last reviewed 2026-09-28. Every quotation on this page is verbatim from the document named beside it. Research and drafting are AI-assisted and reviewed by a named editor before publication. Corrections: corrections.