CryptoGuardzIndependent crypto register
Read the binding document, check it against the issuing register, publish the disagreement18+ · Gambling carries risk of loss

Choose a language

The register is published in these languages. If this page has no version in one of them, you go to that language’s home page.

Photo: Maxim Hopman / UnsplashExchange register · gate.com

Is Gate safe? Licences, account freezes and incidents

In short, from the documents

Is Gate safe?

Gate has 1 licence found in the ESMA MiCA register, issued by the MFSA to Gate Technology Limited. Its terms let it freeze, suspend or close an account. Its terms restrict unlawful or unlicensed gambling only. No primary-source incident is recorded, which is not proof of none.

Documents last checked Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk

Gate: gambling clause: restricts some gambling, read 2026-09-28.Gambling clauseBannedLimitedSilentMarked: Limited, restricts some gamblingIts terms restrict gambling without banningit outright. Read 2026-09-28.Gate: 20 USDT networks listed for withdrawal: Ethereum(ERC20), Tron(TRC20), BNB Smart Chain(BEP20), Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum One, AVAX C-Chain, The Open Network, Aptos, Algorand, CeloGold, Asset Hub Polkadot, EOS, GateChain, kaia, KAVA EVM, MON, Near, Plasma, Tezos.USDT withdrawal networksEthereum(ERC20)Tron(TRC20)BNB Smart Chain(BEP20)SolanaPolygonArbitrum OneAVAX C-ChainThe Open NetworkAptosAlgorandCeloGoldAsset Hub PolkadotEOSGateChainkaiaKAVA EVMMONNearPlasmaTezos20 listed, read 2026-09-28.Gate: register checks: 1 found, 0 not found.Register checksFound in an issuing register1 of 1Not found0 of 1No adverse listing recorded.
Gate: gambling clause: restricts some gambling; 20 USDT networks listed for withdrawal: Ethereum(ERC20), Tron(TRC20), BNB Smart Chain(BEP20), Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum One, AVAX C-Chain, The Open Network, Aptos, Algorand, CeloGold, Asset Hub Polkadot, EOS, GateChain, kaia, KAVA EVM, MON, Near, Plasma, Tezos; register checks: 1 found, 0 not found. From its own documents and the issuing registers, last checked . Not a rating. Drawn by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from the record.

This page answers the short questions. The full Gate review quotes every clause behind them.

Disclosure: CryptoGuardz has no commercial relationship with Gate and earns nothing if you open an account there. Every statement below is read from a document Gate publishes or from a public register, and each carries the date it was read. Corrections go to the corrections page.

Gate review: the documents

This is a review of the documents Gate publishes and of the registers that should list it, not a test of the platform: no account was funded and no withdrawal was run. The binding terms name no company you contract with. The record quotes 7 clauses across 5 topics, read 2026-09-28, from 5 sources. Gate has 1 licence found in the ESMA MiCA register, issued by the MFSA to Gate Technology Limited. A proof of reserves is published and signed by the exchange itself, with no outside accountant named. The terms carry no clause on what happens to customer assets if the company fails. Its terms restrict unlawful or unlicensed gambling only. 3 points could not be verified and are listed below.

Is my crypto safe on Gate?

Gate is a custodial exchange: coins on the account are held by the exchange, not by a key you control. What protects them is what the binding terms say about holding customer assets and about the company failing. The terms read contain no clause on how customer assets are held.

Insolvency or bankruptcy language: Not disclosedThe binding terms read contain no clause on what happens to customer assets if the company becomes insolvent. A reader is left to infer their position as a creditor from a document that does not state it.

Proof of reserves, signer and scope are on the full review. A reserve snapshot says nothing about what the exchange owes.

Can Gate freeze my account?

Yes, by its terms. The 3 clauses are quoted as written. Grounds named in the text: its own discretion, with no reason required, a legal, regulatory or court requirement, a use or business its policy prohibits and a suspected breach of the terms or the law. One ground carries a notice requirement (45 days notice).

Account freeze · 1 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
If we reasonably suspect that you have engaged in, attempted to engage in, or assisted others in engaging in any activity described in the Prohibited Use list, we reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to investigate, suspend or terminate your access to the Services, freeze or confiscate funds, and report suspected activity to relevant authorities.
gate.com
Account freeze · 2 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
3.1 We may restrict, suspend or terminate your Account, use of the Service, the processing of any transaction, at any time if we in our sole discretion, suspect, notice and determine that you have violated this Agreement or any Applicable Laws in your jurisdiction or that the provision or your use of the Service in your jurisdiction is unlawful.
gate.com
Account freeze · 3 of 3Retrieved 2026-09-28
8.8 We may suspend, restrict or terminate your access to any or all of the Sites and/or Services, and/or deactivate or cancel your Account without a reason by giving you 45 days notice.
gate.com

The only clause in the register that sets a notice period for termination without cause.

Sending funds to a casino is a named trigger in a clause that restricts unlawful gambling:

Gambling · Clause 2.11, Prohibited UseRetrieved 2026-09-28
Unregulated casino/online betting/gambling platform, lotteries, or other high-risk betting enterprises;
gate.com

Has Gate been hacked or fined?

No hack, fine or regulator action was found for Gate from primary sources in this collection: no company disclosure, no court filing and no regulator notice. That is not proof that none happened. It is the absence of a search result, and a press report is not recorded here until a primary source confirms it.

Gate support and scams

The official domain in the record is gate.com. Type it yourself rather than following a link from an ad, a search result or a message, and reach support only from inside the account you signed in to there.

Real support never asks for a seed phrase or for remote access to your device. An exchange account is opened with a login, not a recovery phrase, so a request for one is a request for a wallet you hold elsewhere. A request to install a screen-sharing or remote-desktop app hands the caller your signed-in session. Either one ends the conversation.

If money has already gone, the next message offering to get it back is the commonest second loss. The FBI, the FTC, the CFTC and the UK FCA have each published warnings about it, quoted on crypto scam recovery: what is real.

What we could not verify

The gaps in this record, as the record states them. A point listed here was looked for and not confirmed; it is neither a finding for Gate nor against it.

  • The legal entity that operates gate.com for a user outside the EEA. The User Agreement names none.
  • The Hacken engagement listed on the proof of reserves page. The linked report was not downloaded, and its date precedes the snapshot shown.
  • The gate.com pages were served with a notice that the request came from the US region; the agreement read is the one served on gate.com/user-agreement at retrieval.

Sources

Compiled by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from the Gate record, first published 2026-09-28, last reviewed 2026-09-28. Quotations are verbatim from the document named beside them. Corrections: corrections.