
Cash App vs Coinbase: what their terms and the registers say
Cash App vs Coinbase: what differs?
From their own documents and the registers, Cash App and Coinbase differ on licences found in a register (1 against 1) and recorded incidents (2 against 0). No winner is declared: which difference counts depends on how you use the exchange. 2 differences are explained below with who each one matters to.
Documents last checked Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk
Disclosure: CryptoGuardz has no commercial relationship with Cash App Bitcoin or Coinbase and earns nothing if you open an account at either. Every cell below is a field from one of the two register records, each built from documents the company publishes and the registers that should list it, dated when read. Corrections go to the corrections page.
Cash App and Coinbase side by side
| Field | Cash App | Coinbase |
|---|---|---|
| Company in the terms | Block, Inc.Jurisdiction: not disclosed | Coinbase, Inc.Jurisdiction: not disclosed |
| Licences found in a register | 1 found in a register (NYDFS) | 1 found in a register (CSSF)Held by Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. |
| Licences claimed, not confirmed | 1 | 0 |
| Freeze clause | Discretionary freeze, no notice required | Discretionary freeze, no notice required |
| Withdrawal suspension clause | Quoted on the entry | Quoted on the entry |
| Insolvency clause | Present | Present |
| Proof of reserves | No data: page could not be loaded | No data: page could not be loaded |
| Gambling clause | Restricts some gambling | Restricts some gambling |
| Incidents on record | 2Latest 2025-04-10 | 0None found in primary sources; not proof of none |
| Points not verified | 7 | 3 |
| Terms read | cash.appRetrieved 2026-10-08 | coinbase.comRetrieved 2026-09-28 |
What differs, and who it matters to
This comparison reads two records and declares no winner. Both were last reviewed on 2026-10-08. On licences, Cash App: 1 found in a register (NYDFS); Coinbase: 1 found in a register (CSSF). That matters to anyone who may need a regulator to complain to, and only if the licence covers the company they contract with. The record holds 2 primary-source incidents for Cash App and 0 for Coinbase; a count of disclosures and enforcement actions, not a measure of safety. The two records agree on freeze clause scope, gambling clause, insolvency clause and proof of reserves. 1 licence Cash App claims and 0 Coinbase claims were not confirmed in any register. 7 points could not be verified for Cash App and 3 for Coinbase. No account was funded and no withdrawal was run on either, so none of this speaks to how the platforms perform. Each field links back to the full entry, where the clause behind it is quoted with its date.