
Ledger Nano X review from Ledger's own pages, specs, price, Ledger Recover and two incidents
Ledger Nano X review: specs, price, Recover, breaches
The Ledger Nano X lists at US$99 on Ledger's US shop, read 14 October 2026, with an ST33J2M0 chip rated CC EAL5+, Bluetooth 5.2 and a 5 hour battery. Ledger Recover is a paid, optional key backup. Ledger's 2020 customer-data breach and 2023 Connect Kit attack did not break the device; both fed theft through phishing and malicious signing.
Piece published Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk
The Ledger Nano X is a Bluetooth hardware wallet that lists at US$99 on Ledger's US shop, read on 14 October 2026. It runs an ST33J2M0 secure element rated CC EAL5+, one level below the EAL6+ chip Ledger now puts in the cheaper Nano S Plus. Ledger Recover, a paid ID-based backup of the recovery phrase, is opt-in. Neither of Ledger's two big incidents, in 2020 and 2023, broke the device itself.
Everything here comes from Ledger's own pages, read on 14 October 2026, and Ledger's terms as recorded on the Ledger register entry. No device was bought or tested by this desk. Nothing here is investment advice.
Ledger Nano X specs and price
The product page specifications, as listed:
| Item | Ledger Nano X |
|---|---|
| US price | $99 |
| Secure element | ST33J2M0 |
| Chip certification | CC EAL5+ |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth 5.2, USB-C |
| Battery | 5 hour autonomy |
| Screen | Monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px |
| Size | 72 x 18.6 x 11.7 mm |
| Weight | 34 g |
| Phones | iOS 14+, Android 10+ |
| Assets | 500+ via Ledger Wallet |
The price is the US offer in the page's own product data. Ledger's shop runs promotions; check it before relying on the figure. The page also lists "Not compatible with Chromebooks."
Is the Nano X chip weaker than other Ledgers?
It carries a lower rating on paper. The Nano X page lists "Chip Certification: CC EAL5+". The Nano S Plus page, at US$69, lists "Secure Element Chip: ST33K1M5" and "Chip Certification: CC EAL6+", the same chip Ledger lists for its newer devices. The Nano S Plus page names the trade: "Ledger Nano X comes with Bluetooth functionality and is compatible with Ledger Wallet (formerly Ledger Live) for iOS." What the gap in rating means for a real attack is not disclosed on either page.
The chip software is only partly public. Ledger's academy page says its agreement with the chip maker STMicroelectronics "legally prevents us from exposing the low-level code that talks to the hardware blocks of the Secure Element." The Ledger Wallet app is open source. That split is the main point of difference with Trezor, set out in Ledger vs Trezor.
Does Bluetooth on the Nano X expose the keys?
Ledger's page describes Bluetooth as the link to a phone, and states: "Only you can approve transactions on your Ledger Nano X." The keys do not travel over the link; the device signs and returns the signature. Updates over Bluetooth need a recent system: "Ledger OS Updates via Bluetooth requires Ledger OS 2.4.1+. Older versions require a wired connection via desktop or Android to update." No Bluetooth-specific incident appears on the pages read.

What is Ledger Recover, and is it optional?
A subscription that backs up the recovery phrase with three companies. Ledger's academy page says the secure element "splits an encrypted version of the seed phrase (called the entropy) into three fragments", held by "Coincover, Ledger, and Escrowtech", so "no single company has access to the entire backup". Identity is checked with "your ID and a selfie" through Onfido. The Recover page adds: "Subscription requires a valid passport or national identity card", with driver's licences also accepted for US and Canadian users.
It is opt-in. Ledger's academy page:
Ledger Recover is a paid optional subscription service for those who want to back up their wallet access
It also says the service "must be activated via explicit user consent on the signer itself." The Recover page offers bundles with the Nano X. The price is stated three ways: the academy page says US$9.99 a month, while the shop's product data shows US$99.99 with a "/year" suffix and a second listing at US$49.99 with no billing period. Which price applies to a new subscriber is not verified. Ledger's terms, as recorded on the register, put the alternative plainly: "Unless you subscribe to a third-party recovery service, no one is in a position to help you retrieve wallet access."
The service works because the device can encrypt the phrase, split it and send the pieces out once the owner consents on its screen. Whether to subscribe is a choice between a copy held by three companies tied to a passport, and a paper or metal copy held only by the user, covered in what is a seed phrase.
The 2020 Ledger data breach
On 25 June 2020 an attacker exploited Ledger's e-commerce and marketing database, which Ledger found on 14 July. Ledger's first post counted "approximately 1M addresses" of email exposed and a "subset of 9500 customers" with names, postal addresses and phone numbers. That count grew. Ledger's January 2021 update says that on 20 December 2020 "the full contents of the stolen databases were made publicly available in a forum", including "approximately 272,000 customer records including name, address and phone number".

No device or seed was exposed. Ledger's 2020 post says the breach "has no link and no impact whatsoever with our hardware wallets". The damage came after: buyers' names and home addresses became a mailing list for fake Ledger emails and letters asking for the 24 words. Ledger's reply: "Ledger will NEVER ask you for your 24 words."
The 2023 Connect Kit attack
On 14 December 2023, at 09:49, 10:44 and 11:37 CET, malicious versions of Ledger's Connect Kit were published. Ledger describes it as "a Java Script open source library allowing developers to connect their DApps to Ledger hardware." The cause, per Ledger's incident report: "A former Ledger Employee fell victim to a sophisticated phishing attack", and that person's "access to NPMJS was not properly revoked."
Ledger says a fixed version was out "within 40 minutes of Ledger becoming aware". Cached copies kept the malicious file reachable for longer: "From the compromission of NPMJS to the complete resolution, approximately 5 hours have passed." Active draining, by Ledger's estimate, lasted "less than two hours in total". The attacker "did not at any time have access to any Ledger infrastructure." The Nano X was not breached; users who approved the drainer's transaction on their device signed it. Ledger's report gives no total loss and no compensation statement: not disclosed on the page read.
What this does not show
How the Nano X battery holds up after years of use, whether the EAL5+ rating has been attacked in practice, and the current Recover price: not verified. The register's full Ledger record, including the terms clause on "illegal gambling", is on the Ledger entry and its safety page.
Quick answers
How much is the Ledger Nano X?
US$99 on Ledger's US shop on 14 October 2026. The Nano S Plus lists at US$69. Other hardware prices are in what is a hardware wallet.
Is Ledger Recover mandatory on the Nano X?
No. Ledger calls it "a paid optional subscription service" that needs consent on the device. It splits an encrypted phrase into 3 fragments held by Coincover, Ledger and Escrowtech.
Was the Ledger Nano X hacked?
No device hack is in Ledger's reports. The 2020 breach exposed about 1 million emails and 272,000 customer records. In the 2023 Connect Kit attack, about 5 hours passed from compromise to resolution of a software library, and active draining lasted less than two hours, per Ledger.
Does the Nano X have Bluetooth?
Yes, Bluetooth 5.2 for iOS and Android, plus USB-C, with a 5 hour battery. Compare it with Trezor in Ledger vs Trezor.
Sources
- Ledger Nano X product page, specifications and US price, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger Nano S Plus product page, specifications, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger Recover page, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger Academy, what is Ledger Recover, updated 9 April 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger Academy, is Ledger open source, updated 7 October 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger, security incident report on Connect Kit, 20 December 2023, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger, addressing the July 2020 e-commerce and marketing data breach, 29 July 2020, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger, update on efforts to protect your data, 13 January 2021, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Ledger Wallet terms of use, 4 November 2025, as recorded on the wallet register 2026-09-28
- CryptoGuardz wallet register, Ledger entry
About this piece
Compiled by the CryptoGuardz register team from the sources listed above. Research and drafting are AI-assisted and reviewed by a named editor before publication. Nothing here is a recommendation to gamble. If a figure or a reading is wrong, tell us and the correction is logged in public.