CryptoGuardzIndependent crypto register
Read the binding document, check it against the issuing register, publish the disagreement18+ · Gambling carries risk of loss

Choose a language

The register is published in these languages. If this page has no version in one of them, you go to that language’s home page.

Photo: Jason Dent / UnsplashWallet register · atomicwallet.io

Is Atomic Wallet safe? What its terms and incident record say

In short, from the documents

Is Atomic Wallet safe?

Atomic Wallet's terms place the keys with you and disclaim access to them. No party is disclosed as able to block an address. 1 primary-source incident is recorded. Its terms name no gambling rule. Liability is excluded for all loss. This answer reads documents; no code audit or test transaction was run.

Documents last checked Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk

Atomic Wallet: keys held by you. Self-custodial, by the terms.Who holds the keysYouDeviceSharedProviderMarked: YouSelf-custodial, by the terms.Atomic Wallet: who can block an address: none disclosed in the documents read.Who can block an addressNobodyProviderThird partyMarked: NobodyNone disclosed in the documents read.Atomic Wallet: gambling clause: not disclosed, read 2026-10-07. The terms name no gambling rule, which is an absence, not a permission.Gambling clauseBannedSilentAllowedMarked: Silent, not disclosedThe terms name no gambling rule, which is anabsence, not a permission. Read 2026-10-07.Atomic Wallet: 1 primary-source incident recorded.Incidents on record1incidentOnly incidents a primary source records.
Atomic Wallet: keys held by you; who can block an address: none disclosed in the documents read; gambling clause: not disclosed; 1 primary-source incident recorded. From its own terms, documents last checked . Not a rating. Drawn by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from the record.

This page answers the short questions. The full Atomic Wallet entry quotes every clause behind them.

Disclosure: CryptoGuardz has no commercial relationship with Atomic Wallet and earns nothing if you install it. Every statement below is read from a document Atomic Wallet publishes or from a public record, and each carries the date it was read. Corrections go to the corrections page.

Atomic Wallet review: the documents

This is a review of the documents Atomic Wallet publishes, not a test of the product: no transaction was signed and no code audit was read. The binding document names no company you contract with. The terms of service could not be retrieved; the custody position comes from the Atomic Wallet Privacy Policy, last updated 2 June 2025, read 2026-10-07. The record quotes 3 clauses across 2 topics, and 3 sub-service clauses where the app hands a swap, purchase or staking to another party. Atomic Wallet's terms place the keys with you and disclaim access to them. No cloud or hosted backup is offered; recovery depends on the copy you keep. Liability is excluded for all loss. Its terms name no gambling rule. 7 points could not be verified and are listed below.

Has Atomic Wallet been hacked?

One incident is recorded, each from a primary source: a disclosure by the company, a public vulnerability register or a regulator. The descriptions are the record’s, unedited, with the date and the source.

Incident · atomicwallet.io · fbi.gov · court filing

Atomic Wallet users reported unauthorised outgoing transactions draining their wallets. Atomic's own statement said less than 0.1% of app users were affected, named no amount, did not confirm a cause, listed virus targeting on users' devices, infrastructure breach, malware code injection and a man-in-the-middle attack among the possibilities, and said it had engaged Chainalysis and Crystal. The FBI attributed a 100 million US dollar theft from Atomic Wallet on 2 June 2023 to DPRK TraderTraitor-affiliated actors, also known as Lazarus Group and APT38. A US class action filed on 21 June 2023 in the District of Colorado (Meany v. Atomic Wallet, No. 1:23-cv-1582) alleged losses of over 100 million US dollars and that the defendants knew of security vulnerabilities from 2022; these are allegations. No compensation statement was found in Atomic's statement.

On Saturday, June 3, 2023, our support team started receiving reports from users
The DPRK TraderTraitor-affiliated actors were responsible for several high-profile international cryptocurrency heists to include the $60 million theft of virtual currency from Alphapo on June 22, 2023; the $37 million theft of virtual currency from CoinsPaid on June 22, 2023; and the $100 million theft of virtual currency from Atomic Wallet on June 2, 2023.

The dates differ by source: the FBI release gives 2 June 2023, Atomic's statement says reports began on 3 June 2023. Both are recorded. Atomic's statement was last updated 12 September 2023 according to the page. The amount comes from the FBI and from the complaint's allegation; Atomic's own statement gives none.

Retrieved 2026-10-07.

An incident on this list is a disclosed event, not a verdict on the product today. The absence of other incidents is not proof that none happened.

Atomic Wallet support and scams

The official domain in the record is atomicwallet.io. Type the domain yourself rather than following a link to it.

Real support never asks for a seed phrase. The recovery phrase restores the whole wallet on any device, so whoever is given it can move everything it controls, and no support agent needs it to answer a question. What Atomic Wallet stores, by the record: Nothing by Atomic, by its own policies. The user holds the backup phrase. The homepage states the private keys and backup are encrypted on the device.

Support links reached from ads or direct messages are the commonest drain. A search ad, a reply to a public complaint or a direct message offers help, the link opens a page that looks like atomicwallet.io, and the page asks you to “validate” or “sync” the wallet by entering the phrase. Once it is typed in, the wallet is emptied and nothing in the terms gives a way back.

If money has already gone, the next message offering to get it back is the commonest second loss. The FBI, the FTC, the CFTC and the UK FCA warnings about it are quoted on crypto scam recovery: what is real.

What we could not verify

The gaps in this record, as the record states them. A point listed here was looked for and not confirmed; it is neither a finding for Atomic Wallet nor against it.

  • The terms of service. https://atomicwallet.io/terms-of-service is disallowed by robots.txt; two attempts, both refused. The custody clause, termination, address-blocking, geographic restriction, liability cap, amendment, governing law, arbitration and gambling clauses of the binding document are therefore not recorded.
  • The legal entity. No Atomic Wallet document retrieved names one. Atomic Protocol Systems OU, Estonia, is taken from litigation and is not verified against the Estonian business register.
  • The order dismissing the Colorado class action. Reported as entered on 10 September 2024 for lack of personal jurisdiction over Atomic Protocol Systems OU and Evercode Infinite; the order itself could not be fetched (CourtListener search disallowed by robots.txt), so the dismissal is not recorded as an incident fact.
  • The cause of the June 2023 drain. Atomic's statement does not confirm one; the FBI attributes the theft to an actor, not a mechanism.
  • Whether Atomic compensated any affected user. No compensation statement was found in its incident statement.
  • Any Estonian regulator notice concerning Atomic Wallet. Not searched successfully in this pass.
  • The named staking validators and fiat on-ramp providers. Not named in the documents retrieved.

Sources

Compiled by the CryptoGuardz Register Desk from the Atomic Wallet record, first published 2026-10-07, last reviewed 2026-10-07. Quotations are verbatim from the document named beside them. Corrections: corrections.