
How to buy Solana in the US: which exchanges list SOL, what they charge, and what moving it to a wallet costs
Coinbase, Kraken, Robinhood, PayPal and Gemini each list SOL on their own pages, read on 14 October 2026; Cash App's crypto disclosures cover bitcoin and stablecoins, not SOL. Buy fees follow each platform's general crypto schedule. On-chain, Solana charges 5,000 lamports per signature, and the refundable rent-exempt minimum is being cut by up to 90% in five steps from September 2026.
To buy Solana in the US, open and verify an account at a platform that lists SOL, fund it, buy, and withdraw on the Solana network to a wallet you hold. Five US platforms list SOL on their own pages, read on 14 October 2026: Coinbase, Kraken, Robinhood, PayPal and Gemini. Cash App does not list SOL. On-chain, a Solana transfer pays a base fee of 5,000 lamports per signature.
None of that says whether to buy SOL. It sets out what each platform's documents say the purchase and the move cost, and the two Solana rules that catch first-time senders: the network choice and the minimum balance.
Which US exchanges sell Solana?
| Platform | SOL listed on | Buy fee (standard order) | SOL withdrawal network | Withdrawal minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinbase | Currencies endpoint, status online | Spread included, figure not stated | Solana, Base | 0.005 SOL |
| Kraken | Withdrawal fees article | 1% instant or recurring | Solana | Not verified |
| Robinhood | Crypto availability table | No commission on default routing; 0.95% taker on Exchange Routing under $10K | Solana only | Not stated |
| PayPal | Terms, transfer minimums | 2.20% to 1.50% by size, plus est. 1.00% spread | Not stated | 0.01 SOL |
| Gemini | Supported networks table | Not verified | Solana | $10 or dust threshold |
Coinbase's public currencies endpoint returns SOL with status "online", a minimum withdrawal of 0.005 and a maximum of 200,000, and two networks: Solana and Base. Robinhood's availability table marks SOL "Yes" in all four columns with no state footnote; the only state carve-outs on that page are "Not available for trading in New York" and "Not available for trading in Texas", attached to other coins. PayPal's terms list "SOL: 0.01 SOL" as the minimum external transfer. Gemini's network table carries the row "SOL | Solana", and its general minimum is "$10 USD worth of the asset or the dust threshold, whichever is greater."
Kraken's withdrawal article says "Deposits and withdrawals on the Solana network are fully operational at near-instant speeds", but its fee table did not load: the SOL withdrawal fee and minimum are not verified.
Cash App is absent for a reason recorded on the Cash App entry: its Bitcoin and Stablecoin Disclosures cover bitcoin and stablecoins and do not mention SOL.
What does it cost to buy SOL?
The general crypto schedule, applied to SOL like any other coin. Kraken: "Kraken charges a fixed 1% trading fee". Robinhood's default market maker routing carries "No commissions"; its Exchange Routing tiers start at 0.95% taker and 0.50% maker under $10K of 30-day volume. PayPal charges 2.20% from $1.00 to $74.99, falling to 1.50% above $1,000, and its terms add "an estimated spread of one percent (1.00%)". Coinbase says it "includes a spread in the quoted price" without a figure. The bitcoin version of the same comparison, with every band, is in how to buy bitcoin.
How do you move SOL to a Solana wallet?
Withdraw on the Solana network to an address from a Solana wallet. Phantom and Solflare are both on the register: Phantom lists Solana among its supported networks, and Solflare's terms describe a Solana wallet only. See Phantom and Solflare.
Robinhood's transfer article sets out the rules that apply anywhere:
Each asset can only be sent on its own blockchain.
It accepts "Solana addresses that are 44 characters long", warns "Use the correct network. Sending to an incompatible network can cause permanent loss", and states "Crypto transfers are final. Once sent, they can't be canceled or reversed, even by Robinhood." If address allowlisting is turned on, "It adds a 48-hour maturation period before new addresses or configuration changes take effect."
Coinbase listing Base as a second SOL network is the trap here. A Phantom or Solflare Solana address expects the Solana network. Picking the other one is the error the warning above describes. A test send of the platform minimum first costs one extra network fee.
What are Solana's fees and rent?
Two separate costs, both set by the protocol rather than the exchange.

Transaction fee. Solana's docs list a "Base fee per signature | 5,000 lamports", "split 50% burned / 50% to the validator". At "1 SOL = 1,000,000,000 lamports", per the account docs, that is 0.000005 SOL for a one-signature transfer. An optional prioritization fee goes "100% to the validator".
Rent, now a deposit. The account docs say "Every account must maintain a minimum lamport balance to keep its data stored onchain", that "ongoing rent collection is disabled", and that the balance is a refundable storage deposit: "the full balance can be recovered when the account is closed." The formula, from Solana's rent upgrade page, is (128 + data size) × lamports per byte.
That rate is falling. Step 1 of SIMD-0437 cut it from 6,960 to 6,333 lamports per byte, and "is active on mainnet as of September 3, 2026". Step 2 (5,080) was expected on mainnet in mid-September, but the page's status table still marks it "Live on Testnet"; mainnet activation is not verified. Steps 3 to 5, down to 696, "are delayed until Agave 4.4, expected in November 2026."
Worked through for a token account, which the docs size at 165 bytes: the docs' own table still shows 2,039,280 lamports (0.00203928 SOL), which is 293 × 6,960, the pre-September rate. At the Step 1 rate it is 293 × 6,333 = 1,855,569 lamports. For a plain wallet account with no data, 128 × 6,333 = 810,624 lamports. The rent page says the full rollout cuts the rate by 90%. Exchanges pass network costs on in their own way; the figure a withdrawal screen shows is the one that applies.
Where do SOL purchases go wrong?
The same places as any coin. Funds sent on the wrong network. A "support agent" in a direct message asking for a recovery phrase, covered in what is a seed phrase. A token named like SOL on a different contract. Nothing in the table above can reverse an on-chain send; the official routes after a theft are on the scam recovery page.

Quick answers
Can you buy Solana on Cash App?
Not on the documents read. Cash App's disclosures cover bitcoin and stablecoins and do not mention SOL. Coinbase, Kraken, Robinhood, PayPal and Gemini list SOL. Exchange register.
How much is the Solana network fee?
The base fee is 5,000 lamports per signature, or 0.000005 SOL, per Solana's docs. Priority fees are optional and go to the validator.
What is Solana rent?
A refundable minimum balance each account must hold, worked out as (128 + data size) × lamports per byte. The rate fell from 6,960 to 6,333 on 3 September 2026 and is scheduled to reach 696.
What is the minimum SOL withdrawal?
0.005 SOL at Coinbase and 0.01 SOL at PayPal on their pages; Gemini applies $10 or the dust threshold. Kraken's figure is not verified.
Sources
- Coinbase Exchange public currencies endpoint, SOL, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Coinbase Help Center, Coinbase pricing and fees disclosures, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Kraken Support, FAQs about buying instantly, last updated 16 September 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Kraken Support, Cryptocurrency withdrawal fees and minimums, last updated 31 December 2025, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Robinhood Support, Crypto availability, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Robinhood Support, Crypto transfers, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Robinhood Crypto Standard Pricing Fee Schedule, reference 20260622-5628344-17827487, retrieved 14 October 2026
- PayPal Cryptocurrency Terms and Conditions, last updated 19 May 2026, retrieved 14 October 2026
- PayPal consumer fees, cryptocurrency section, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Gemini Support, What networks are supported for crypto deposits and withdrawals, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Gemini Support, What are the crypto withdrawal minimums, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Solana docs, Fees, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Solana docs, Account structure, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Solana docs, Create a token account, retrieved 14 October 2026
- Solana upgrades, Reduced rent (SIMD-0437), retrieved 14 October 2026
- Cash App Bitcoin and Stablecoin Disclosures, as recorded on the exchange register 2026-10-08
- Phantom help centre, supported networks, as recorded on the wallet register 2026-09-28
- Solflare terms, as recorded on the wallet register 2026-09-28
About this piece
Compiled by the CryptoGuardz register team from the sources listed above. Research and drafting are AI-assisted and reviewed by a named editor before publication. Nothing here is a recommendation to gamble. If a figure or a reading is wrong, tell us and the correction is logged in public.