
What is a high roller? What crypto casino VIP terms say about rakeback, discretion and big withdrawals
What is a high roller?
A high roller is a player who stakes large sums, and casinos define the line themselves: Stake's VIP tiers start at US$10,000 wagered. The terms behind VIP perks are discretionary, large wins can be paid in instalments, and checks escalate with size. The UK regulator tightened VIP rules in 2020 after finding schemes masked harm.
Piece published Reviewed by CryptoGuardz Register Desk, editorial desk
A high roller is a player who stakes large sums, large enough that a casino treats them as a separate class of customer. No regulator fixes the line. Stake's VIP page, read on 9 October 2026, starts its tiers at US$10,000 wagered and tops out at US$25 million. The perks that come with the label, from rakeback to a personal host, sit in clauses the casino can change at its own discretion.
The money at stake makes the terms matter more, not less. Large wins can be paid in instalments, checks escalate with withdrawal size, and the UK regulator rewrote its VIP rules in 2020 after finding such schemes stood in the way of spotting harm.
What is a high roller in gambling?
A customer the casino decides is worth more to it than the rest. The UK Gambling Commission, which regulates the practice most closely, says outright:
There is no single definition of what constitutes an HVC.
HVC means high value customer, the regulator's term for what casinos call VIPs or high rollers. The guidance describes them as "those customers identified as being of enough commercial value" to receive enhanced service, and covers "schemes that offer tailored or personalised incentives linked to high value spend or frequency of play", such as hospitality invitations, personal account managers and individual bonuses.
Crypto casinos define the class by turnover. Stake publishes its ladder:
| Stake VIP tier | Wager amount | Expected loss at a 1% edge | At a 4% edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bronze | US$10,000 | US$100 | US$400 |
| Silver | US$50,000 | US$500 | US$2,000 |
| Gold | US$100,000 | US$1,000 | US$4,000 |
| Platinum I to III | US$250,000 to US$2.5 million | US$2,500 to US$25,000 | US$10,000 to US$100,000 |
| Platinum IV to VI | US$2.5 million to US$25 million | US$25,000 to US$250,000 | US$100,000 to US$1 million |
| Diamond I to V | US$25 million | US$250,000 | US$1 million |
The loss columns are arithmetic on published edges: 1% is the edge Stake states for Dice, and 4% is the edge of a 96% RTP slot, the median studio figure on sheets collected by CryptoGuardz. The method is in what a casino house edge is. The perks are paid out of that expected loss.
What do VIP programmes promise?
Benefits by name, rarely by number. Stake's VIP page lists "Rakeback", "Level Up bonuses", "Bonus from VIP host" and a "Dedicated VIP host" who "will support and cater to your betting needs." It states no rakeback rate. Two operators in the register do publish a rate, and both put it on a capped or introductory offer:
| Operator | Rakeback or VIP figure | Where it is stated | Record date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cloudbet | 10% casino rakeback in the welcome package | Welcome package page | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Rakebit | 100% rakeback on the first USD 1,000 wagered, levels 1 to 9 | Homepage | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Stake | Rakeback listed, no rate | VIP page | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Vave | Cashback and rakeback "up to 100 000 USDT" | Homepage | 2 Oct 2026 |
Vave's headline meets its own bonus terms. Clause 1.3, as recorded on the register on 2 October 2026, caps winnings from cashback, points, tournament, deposit, VIP and weekly bonuses at 10,000 USDT, and "Any amount in excess will be forfeited." The register lists it as a documented conflict on Vave's entry. Rakebit is a commercial partner of this site, as is Flush below; both are disclosed on the disclosure page.
Can a casino change or cancel VIP rewards?
Yes, and the terms say so in plain words. Stake's terms name rakeback as a promotion in clause 12.1 ("Reloads, and Rakeback") and then govern every promotion with discretion clauses. Clause 12.3: "We reserve the right to withdraw any promotion, bonus, or special offer at any time." Clause 12.7 goes further:
Stake may, at its sole discretion, deny, withhold, or withdraw from any Player any bonus or promotion, or terminate that Player's access to the Services, the Software, and/or lock that Player's account, either temporarily or permanently.
The trigger for 12.7 is that Stake "believes a Player of the Service is abusing or attempting to abuse a bonus or other promotion". The belief is Stake's. The VIP page itself, read the same day, carries no clause of its own.
Bitcasino's reward terms say the operator "may change or cancel any promotion at its sole discretion at any given time", and describe its Loyalty Club rewards only as "tailored to the player's gameplay", with no rates on the page. mBit's bonus terms reserve the right, "at our sole discretion, change the terms and conditions, the promotion itself, or limit the eligibility for any reason whatsoever without prior notice."
A VIP status is a commercial relationship the casino can end, not a contractual entitlement the player holds. That is what the three sets of terms read here say.
What happens when a high roller wins big?
The payout can be capped, split or delayed. The register's operator records hold these clauses:
| Operator | Large-win or withdrawal clause | Record date |
|---|---|---|
| Bitcasino | May "process no more than 1 Million USDT or equivalent" per week on a large request (6.10) | 2 Oct 2026, re-read 9 Oct 2026 |
| Lucky Block | 150,000 euros per 30 days, or 500,000 euros for players classified as VIP | 2 Oct 2026 |
| mBit | 3 BTC per 7 days, 10 BTC per 30 days; wins of 10 BTC or more may be paid in ten monthly instalments | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Jackbit | US$50,000 per 7 days, US$100,000 per 30 days; wins over 100,000 may be split monthly | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Rakebit | EUR 20,000 a month; wins above EUR 50,000 may be paid monthly; maximum win EUR 500,000 over up to 90 days | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Flush | USD 10,000 per rolling 30 days "unless a special or VIP agreement applies" | 2 Sep 2026 |
Two of the six write a separate VIP tier into the limit itself. Lucky Block's VIP ceiling is more than three times the standard one, and Flush's standard limits fall away entirely under an agreement whose terms are not published: not disclosed. For a player with a seven-figure balance, the monthly cap decides how long the money stays on the casino's balance sheet. At mBit, a 10 BTC win paid in ten monthly instalments takes ten months to clear. Withdrawal timing promises against terms are compared in instant withdrawal casino terms.
Do high rollers face more KYC checks?
Yes, and the thresholds are mostly unpublished. The register records:
| Operator | What the terms say about size | Threshold published? |
|---|---|---|
| Lucky Block | Source of wealth above 5,000 dollars deposited or withdrawn | Yes |
| Cloudbet | ID once cumulative deposits reach 2,200 US dollars | Yes |
| Stake | Account suspended at a risk-based withdrawal threshold | No |
| Gamdom | Checks at specific financial thresholds the terms do not state | No |
| Metaspins | Verification "upon your gambling reaching a certain threshold" (9.7) | No |
| FortuneJack | Checks above "a particular limit established by the Company from time to time" (8.3) | No |

A high roller crosses every one of these lines, published or not. Source of funds or wealth means bank statements, payslips, sale contracts or exchange records going back far enough to explain the deposits. A player who cannot produce them faces the clauses set out in failed KYC confiscation clauses, and the document lists per operator are in casino KYC requirements.
What risks do regulators link to VIP schemes?
Harm that the scheme itself hides. The UK Gambling Commission set VIP incentives as one of three industry challenges in October 2019, listed as "incentives for high value customers, often referred to as VIPs". Its public page on the subject records what its casework found:
acted as a barrier to identifying people who are experiencing harm.
The same page says the Commission had seen "evidence of such schemes encouraging harmful play. This needs to stop." New rules followed on 30 September 2020, in force from 31 October. Before making a customer a VIP, a British licensee must establish that spending is "affordable and sustainable as part of the customer's leisure spend", check for "evidence of gambling related harm, or heightened risk linked to vulnerability", and hold "up to date evidence relating to identity, occupation and source of funds." A senior licensed executive must answer for each scheme. The Commission's release said VIP sign-ups had already fallen by 70% since the 2019 challenge.
The enforcement record shows why. In the Betway case the Commission found one VIP customer had "deposited over £8 million and lost over £4 million during a four-year period" without source of funds checks, and another had "deposited and lost £187,000 in two days". Betway was to pay £11.6 million.
None of the 24 operators in the register holds a British licence, and 20 list the UK as a restricted territory, so these rules do not bind them. They are the clearest public statement of what a regulator expects before a casino rolls out the red carpet.
What this does not show
Actual rakeback rates paid at any tier are not disclosed by any operator read. Flush's VIP agreement terms are not disclosed. Whether any operator enforces its instalment clauses in practice is not measured. Vave's and Lucky Block's figures come from the register's records of 2 October 2026. Vave's bonus terms served no readable text on 9 October 2026, and Lucky Block's pages were not re-read.
Quick answers
What is a high roller?
A player who stakes large sums and is treated by the casino as a separate class. No regulator fixes the threshold; Stake's VIP tiers begin at US$10,000 wagered. See the Stake entry.
What do casino VIP programmes offer?
Rakeback, level-up bonuses and a personal host, usually without published rates. Cloudbet's welcome package states 10% casino rakeback; Stake's VIP page states none.
Can a casino take away VIP rewards?
Yes. Stake's clause 12.7 lets it "deny, withhold, or withdraw" any bonus or promotion at its "sole discretion", and its terms name rakeback as a promotion. The casino register quotes each operator's clauses.
Are big casino wins paid all at once?
Not always. mBit may pay wins of 10 BTC or more in ten monthly instalments, and Bitcasino may cap a large withdrawal at 1 million USDT a week.
Where can I get help with gambling?
Gambling Therapy offers free international support at gamblingtherapy.org, and more options are on the responsible gambling page.
Sources
- Stake VIP club page, retrieved 9 October 2026
- Stake terms and conditions, retrieved 9 October 2026
- Bitcasino reward terms and conditions, retrieved 9 October 2026
- mBit bonus terms, retrieved 9 October 2026
- CryptoGuardz operator records, payouts, KYC and bonus fields, retrieved 2 September to 2 October 2026
- Lucky Block AML policy, as recorded on the register 2 October 2026
- Lucky Block general terms, as recorded on the register 2 October 2026
- Vave bonus terms, as recorded on the register 2 October 2026
- Bitcasino terms and conditions of use, retrieved 9 October 2026
- UK Gambling Commission, High Value Customers industry guidance, introduction, 30 September 2020, updated 15 April 2024, retrieved 9 October 2026
- UK Gambling Commission, New rules to stamp out irresponsible VIP customer practices, 30 September 2020, retrieved 9 October 2026
- UK Gambling Commission, Incentives for High Value Customers, retrieved 9 October 2026
- UK Gambling Commission, October 2019 industry challenges, background, retrieved 9 October 2026
- UK Gambling Commission, Betway to pay 11.6m for failings linked to VIP customers, retrieved 9 October 2026
About this piece
Compiled by the CryptoGuardz register team from the sources listed above. Research and drafting are AI-assisted and reviewed by a named editor before publication. Nothing here is a recommendation to gamble. If a figure or a reading is wrong, tell us and the correction is logged in public.